The Society of Professors of Education (SPE) is a professional and academic association open to all persons engaged in teacher preparation and related activities.  SPE is an interdisciplinary organization that began in 1902.  Founding members included John Dewey, Charles DeGarmo, and Walter B. Jacobs.  Several other noteworthy early members were William Kilpatrick, George S. Counts, Elwood P. Cubberley, Harold O. Rugg, Edward L. Thorndike, and George Herbert Mead symbolizing the diverse interests and ideological variety of the organization.  Its current members include several award winning theoreticians, researchers, and practitioners in education.

Download SPE Membership Form

Mail or Email:
Dr. Robert C. Morris
Department of ECSE, UWG, COE
1601 Maple Street
Carrollton, GA 30118
Office#: 678.839.6132

To pay membership dues via Paypal: 

Please send the completed membership form through email, indicating how much I need to bill through PayPal. I will then send you an invoice to your email address and you can pay with credit card.

Complex Social Justice Problems in Education: Remembering SPE’s Roots and Founders

The 2022 Society of Professors of Education Conference Program

Daylong Live Synchronous Virtual Conference on Zoom

Saturday, April 23, 2022 (8am-5pm EDT)

 ~ Ball State University, Conference Host ~