The Mary Anne Raywid Award and Lecture

Due Date: February 1, 2024
Chair: TBD

The Mary Anne Raywid Award is named for Mary Anne Raywid, Hofstra University

Professor Emerita and Past president of the Society of Professors of Education (1978-1979). The award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the study of education.

Individuals may be nominated or self-nominated, simply by naming the individual to committee chair Nicholas Hartlep ( no later than February 1, 2023.

The Lecture for this Award was discontinued after 2013 in an effort to create more program time*.

Mary Anne Raywid Award Recipients

Rachel Endo, University of Washington, Tacoma, 2023

M. Francyne Huckaby, Texas Christian University, 2022

Denise Taliaferro Baszile, Miami Univeristy, 2020*

Pamela Konkol, Concordia University Chicago, 2019*

Ming Fang He, Georgia Southern University, 2018*

Robert C. Morris, University of West Georgia, 2017*

George Noblit, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 2016*

Janet L. Miller, Teachers College, Columbia University, 2015*

Edmund C. Short, Emeritus, Pennsylvania State University, 2014*

Craig Kridel, University of South Carolina, Explorations and responsibilities: Advocacy research and the Black High School Study, 1940-1948, 2013

William H. Watkins, University of Illinois at Chicago, Social reconstructionism: Issues and problems, 2011

Joel Spring, Queens College and The Graduate Center, City University of New York, The globalization of education, 2009

Daniel Tanner, State University of New Jersey, Rutgers, Where are the GREAT college presidents? 2008

William H. Schubert, University of Illinois at Chicago, Sources of wonder that keep the professoriate alive and relevant, 2007

Geneva Gay, University of Washington, Rethinking the past in light of present realities and future possibilities, 2006

Wayne J. Urban, Georgia State University, The Educational Policies Commission 1936-1968: An autopsy, 2005

Bill Pinar, Louisiana State University, The gender and racial politics of contemporary school reform, 2004

O.L. Davis, Jr., University of Texas at Austin, American schools in wartime: study and more, 2003

Faustine Jones-Wilson, Howard University, Characteristics of schools/programs that successfully serve low income urban African Americans, 2002

Douglas J. Simpson, University of Louisville, John Dewey’s view of the teacher as artist, 2001

Herbert Kliebard, University of Wisconsin, Madison, The failure and the promise of educational reform, 2000

William Hare, Mount St. Vincent University, The teachers our children need, 1999

Gloria Ladson-Billings, University of Wisconsin, Madison, From practice to theory to practice, 1997

Maxine Greene, Teachers College, Columbia University, Resisting the one-dimensional: Education and multiplicity, 1996